The AOC Announces the 2024 Paris Olympic Shooting Team

The Australian Olympic Committee yesterday announced 10 shooting athletes who will represent Australia at the 2024 Paris Olympic Games.

From left to right: Rifle Athletes Dane Sampson and Jack Rossiter, and Pistol Athletes Elena Galiabovitch and Sergei Evglevski

Four-time Men’s Hockey Olympian, Deputy Chef de Mission, Mark Knowles, was the Master of Ceremonies for the announcement at the Brisbane International Shooting Centre, officially announcing the selection of the 10 athletes and handing Qantas Olympic boarding passes to the four pistol and rifle athletes. Connected by a live video stream between the venues, two-time Olympic hurdler Kyle Vander-Kuyp presented the six shotgun athletes with their boarding passes at the Victorian Institute of Sport in Melbourne.

Deputy Chef de Mission Mark Knowles leading formalities in Brisbane

Of the Australian Olympic Shooting Team announcement, Shooting Australia’s Chief Executive Officer, Adam Sachs, says, “I congratulate the 10 athletes on their selection to the 2024 Paris Australian Olympic Shooting Team. It has been a rigorous qualification and selection process and we are delighted to be able to now celebrate their selection to the team.

Six Shotgun Athletes from left to right: Penny Smith, Catherine Skinner, Aislin Jones, Joshua Bell, Mitchell Iles, James Willett

““We were so fortunate and privileged to have access to two of the Deputy Chef de Missions yesterdays which ensured the team announcement was special and inclusive of all ten athletes.

Deputy Chef de Mission Kyle Vander-Kuyp presenting Catherine Skinner with her Qantas Olympic boarding pass

“The 10 athletes will play a part in continuing to build on the legacy that Australian Shooting has, and the proud history and achievement in pinnacle events; none more significant than the Olympic Games.

“This year’s team captures some incredible talent and will see Dane Sampson heading to his fourth games, Elena Galiabovitch, Jack Rossiter and James Willett heading to their third games, and Sergei Evglevski, Aislin Jones, Penny Smith, Catherine Skinner and Mitchell Iles heading to their second games. Joshua Bell will be making his Olympic debut.

Team selection table courtesy of the Australian Olympic Committee

“We thank the Australian Olympic Committee for facilitating the team announcement and the significant role they play in not only supporting the athletes but profiling the athletes across each and every sport. Shooting Australia is also extremely grateful to the Victorian Institute of Sport and Brisbane International Shooting Centre for hosting yesterday’s formalities.

“I also extend thanks to the coaches, high performance staff, family, friends and supporters who are there with the athletes every step of the way.

National Rifle Coach Petr Kurka with National Pistol Coach Vladimir Galiabovitch

“Today marks 28 days until the Opening Ceremony in Paris. Our athletes will now begin their final stages of preparation before they commence departures to the Games. They go with our best wishes and the full support of the Australian Shooting community and the nation.”

All media enquiries to Jane Vella [email protected] or +61 407 859 197.

Shooting Australia