Shooting community to be honoured at 2020 Awards of Excellence

Shooting Australia will pay tribute to Shooting at a community level when it hosts the 2020 Awards of Excellence on Tuesday, November 17.

In a Shooting Australia first, the Awards evening, hosted by Jon Harker and Annabelle Williams, will be live streamed via Shooting Australia TV.

With national and international competition significantly reduced this year because of COVID-19, the High Performance Awards will not be presented.

“Unfortunately, there has not been enough competition in the period for the criteria of our High Performance Awards to be judged,” said Shooting Australia Chief Executive, Luke van Kempen.

“However there has been a sustained level of activity at the club level across Australia and we look forward to judging the four Community Award categories as we normally would at the Awards of Excellence.

“Shooting Australia would also like to acknowledge that community clubs, volunteers, coaches and officials have overcome significant challenges in maintaining opportunities for participants to compete during the COVID-19 pandemic,” said van Kempen.

“So, we have created the Community Acknowledgement categories this year to pay tribute to the inspiring work that continues at the grassroots level,” he added.

Award nominations cover the period of November 2019 and October 2020.

Four Community Awards will be presented. They are:

  • Club of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Official of the Year

More information on Community Awards

Additionally, Shooting Australia will acknowledge other activities that have taken place between November 2019 and October 2020.

The six Community Acknowledgement categories are:

  • Officials in Training
  • Club Improvements
  • Most Adaptive Club
  • Shooting Community Initiative
  • Inclusivity Initiative
  • Most Memorable Moment

More information on Community Acknowledgement


Nominations for the Community Awards are now open

Submission for Community Acknowledgement is now open

Submissions close at 5pm  Friday 16 October, 2020.


Further information;

Greg Campbell

PRISM Strategic Communications

Ph: 0418 239 139

E: [email protected]

Shooting Australia